Colorado Bootcamp July 28th, 2013

Triple Threat was honored to teach the future of roller derby in Fort Collin, Colorado. There was right around 40 kids from ages 7-18 and boy oh boy did we have fun. We all started working out and skating together until it cam time to hit and PBR took the youngsters off to the side (and had them doing awesome footwork and I even seen them jumping backwards over cones. I was amazed with those kiddos.) While the older kids and I skated our faces clean off. We worked on a little bit of everything and most of the time my mouth was wide open in astonishment of the skills these kids already had. We were able to fine tune some already harnessed skills and add some news ones to the mix to make an awesome, awesome 10 hour jr derby experience. But it all really cam together at the mixer at the end: the parents were screaming and cheering on their children, the kids were coming back to the bench and telling me “did you see that,” I chest blocked her,” “I buttholed her,” “I jammed.” and all of those quotes and more filled my heart with happiness. More than that, seeing those kids keep going after they had such a long day and never once wanting to tap out really, truly made me proud of those kids. I cannot wait to yell their names at nationals some day.
I can only hope we impacted them as much as they impacted us!

Sum Mo Payne, T3
Photo: What a blast it was to teach our future. It looks bright.

July 28th bootcampers. Photo credit: Mo Payne